Books & Alumni

Since 1977, the National Journalism Center has trained aspiring journalists in the values of responsible, balanced, and accurate reporting.

More than 2,250 alumni have participated in the National Journalism Center’s internship program, and many have gone on to become best-selling authors and journalists. They have been hired by hundreds of media outlets, including: ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox News, PBS, CNN, CNBC, MSNBC, C-SPAN, BBC, The Hill, Newsweek, New Yorker, National Geographic, Politico, TV Guide, Forbes, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Times, Associated Press, Reuters, Washington Examiner, the Federalist, and more.

Malcolm Gladwell (Summer ’82)

Steve F. Hayward (Spring ’81)

Tim Carney (Summer ’99)

John Fund (Summer ’81)

Greg Gutfeld (Fall ’87)

 Jason Mattera (Summer ’03)

Dan Joseph (Summer ’07)

Nathaniel Ryun and Andrew Ryun (Summer ’97)

Surekha Vijh (Spring ’97)

Michael Kahn (Spring ’96)

Christy (Faris) Shipe (Summer ’95)

Eric Peters (Spring ’92)

Sebastian Smith (Spring ’91)

Mark LaRochelle (Summer ’90)

Michael W. Perry (Summer ’90)

Sean Naylor (Summer ’89)

Richard Himelfarb (Fall ’89)

Lynne Munson (Spring ’88)

Richard Miniter (Summer ’88)

Greg Kaza (Spring ’87)

John M. Hood (Summer ’87)

Rochelle (Rueb) Schweitzer (Summer ’87)

Tim Graham (Fall ’87)

Brian Mitchell (Fall ’87)

Douglas W. Phillips (Fall ’87)

Brian C. Robertson (Fall ’87)

John Gillis (Spring ’86)

Michael Fumento (Fall ’85)

Thomas Holt (Summer ’84)

Karen Lehrman (Summer ’84)

Butch Oxendine (Summer ’84)

Christopher Westley (Fall ’84)

Brian Harris (Summer ’83)

Michael Johns (Summer ’83)

Robert W. Kamphuis, Jr. (Summer ’83)

Bill Kapner (Summer ’83)

Harry W. Crocker III (Fall ’83)

Cort Kirkwood (Fall ’83)

Steve Lipman (Fall ’83)

Laurel (Suomisto) Kenner (Fall ’83)

Becky (Borders) Rupp (Summer ’82)

Joel Himelfarb (Summer ’82)

Tom Kertscher (Summer ’82)

Ron Brackin (Spring ’81)

Martin Morse Wooster (Spring ’81)

John A. Barnes (Summer ’81)

Jonathan W. Emord (Summer ’81)

S. Steven Powell (Summer ’81)

Maggie Gallagher (Summer ’80)

William McGurn (Summer ’80)

Veronica (Obermayer) Attnip (Summer ’80)

Cheryl J. Fish (Summer ’79)

Daniel T. Griswold (Summer ’79)

Cliff Kincaid (Summer ’79)

Larry Orr (Summer ’79)

Don Caldwell (Fall ’79)

Richard Vigilante (Fall ’79)